spell happiness- C.R.O.C.H.E.T.

320646_516692228350643_1363931775_n

 

This is what makes me happy. Sometimes, happiness can get in material things but in a productive way.

I purchased all of them thru online shop from a trusted seller/friend. I am overwhelmed with the products i have right now. I can now compare the classes of yarns and can choose what’s my favorite and most used yarn. Though I haven’t finished my 20 Christmas gifts/ items let me share to you what my comment on each and every yarn that I have.

First of all those small balls of yarn was purchased last September and October along with all of the books. And those big balls of yarn are purchased earlier.

My favorite to least favorite yarn:

2012-12-02 21.48.04 (1)1. PEACHES AND CREME YARN – 100% cotton and very soft yarn. What I like it is the softness of its texture, as in very very soft, and with a light feeling when you started to crochet it. You can use it in wearable crocheted items. Honestly, I haven’t used it yet because obviously it’s my favorite and can’t make any projects with this little skeins that I have.

2012-12-02 21.49.12 (1)

 

2. SOUTH MAID COTTON 8 YARN – Same texture with peaches and cream but it’s a little thinner with peaches.

2012-12-02 21.59.29 (1)

 

3. MONACO 100 % MERCERIZED COTTON THREAD –  I frequently used this thread for bags, purses,wearables, hairbands and hats. I think this should be on no.1 since I always used it from the day I learned to crochet (at 11 years old) until now. haha. I used 2strands of it for headbands and bag for a bigger gauge. But i really don’t understand the word MERCERIZED… I should learn more about crochet hehe.

2012-12-02 22.02.03 (1)

2012-12-02 22.03.08 (1)

 

4. BAGUIO COTTON YARNS – It all came from Baguio City, Philippines 🙂 Super soft and light but it’s thinner than Monaco. Super thin! This is the first time to use and touch it. My friend told me that this is very good for crocheted wearables.

2012-12-02 22.04.10 (1)5. RED HEART SUPER SAVER YARN – Biggest skeins that I had and thicker yarn also. Rough texture. Good for bags, house items like coasters, pot holders and scrubbies. What I like about Red Heart is there skeins, super big skeins haha

2012-12-02 22.04.54 (1)6. CARMENCITA YARN – Not so rough and not so soft. Have a good thickness for my hats and shoes.

2012-12-02 22.05.57 (1)7. CANNON MULTICOLORED THREAD – Too thin to handle. 100 % cotton. Good for wearables only (that’s what i think). Gonna try this on the other day.

These comparison is based on what I see, feel and how I used it. Open for comments or clarification on my description. These is all I have right now and soon to use for my Christmas gifts to all my love ones. Hopefully they will like my items.

Wanna share also my power tools!.

2012-12-02 22.08.52 (1)

 

Crochet hobby keeps me insane! I can crochet in 2days straight (except when I needed to sleep) without feeling pain on my hands and mind. ahaha.

Thank you for stopping by and let’s share our hobbies 🙂

 

 

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under crochet world

9 responses to “spell happiness- C.R.O.C.H.E.T.

  1. Mercerized means immersed in strong alkali (usually sodium hydroxide) to make cotton stronger and shinier. It was named after John Mercer. Pansin mo mas matibay at makintab ang Monaco mercerized cotton thread kesa sa mga cotton yarns from Baguio…
    Ako din I use two strands of Monaco to make bags 😀 Keep blogging!

  2. Thanks to my father who informed me concerning this website,
    this web site is truly amazing.

  3. I hope to see you use up all the yarns you bought 🙂 I feel the same way with my stash, when I’m just started to crochet again, it’s just that in my case, it went out of control. I ended up with more yarns to last me a lifetime. I’m glad a lot of people got interested with my collection, and i’d like to thank you for taking your share of my stash eheheheeh I’m looking forward to your projects 🙂

    • thanks.. now ko lang nabasa nag comment ka hehe… hnd ko alam pag link kaya hnd nalink ung word sa blog or shop mo… gnun dapat gagawin ko 🙂 anyways i already love red hearts for my shoes and now i’m using cannon for my shrug! i bought it all from you hahah… 🙂

  4. With baguio yarns you might wanna try finding the start of the whole spool in the middle, that’s what i do and i’m able to crochet using 6strands instead of 3 when i need it. Its a bit of a challenge though finding it in the middle kailangan careful ka sa pagkapa 😀

    • that’s a great technique! can i use it also on monaco? hnd po ba nagbubuhol pag nasa end na? 🙂 and para sa wearables ko lng ba tlga xa magagamit? thank you and thanks for stopping by! :)))

      • center pull … it depends though.. if you’re buying something like the ABaca yarn of yarnsource manila, it’s goign to be a mess if you do that.. pull it from the outside.. if the yarn has that 3-ply, 4-ply , n-ply characteristics.. it’s better to start using from the outside 🙂 For those does are spun into one strand, center pull is okay 🙂

  5. *for those that are spun into one strand, center pull is okay 🙂 typo

Let's talk about this.. :)

